Morning Blueberry Streusel Procrastination Muffins

Because I was avoiding filing my taxes and because we had lots of blueberries, I decided to make blueberry muffins this morning. One of the things I love about my “days off” is how much I can actually accomplish before 8:30 (my usual work time) because I don’t have to worry about dressing and driving.

Adapted from The Awesome-est Blueberry Muffins

Preheat oven to 375 degrees (convection oven) or 400 degrees (regular oven)

In the bowl of a mixer add:
1/2 cup vegetable oil
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 egg
1/2 cup plain yogurt
1/2 cup milk
1 teasspoon vanilla extract
zest of one lemon (tip: When a recipe calls for the juice of the lemon but not the zest, zest the lemon first and save the zest in a small container for later use. This zest was left over from a month ago and still smelled fresh)

Mix the above ingredients well, then add the below until combined

2 cups  flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon salt

Gently mix in 1 1/2 cups fresh blueberries

Grease muffin tins, or place paper liners in cups and fill each with equal amounts batter.

I had left over streusel topping that I had froze the last time I made Joy the Baker’s Browned Butter Blueberry muffins, so I added her delightful topping to my muffins:

3 Tablespoons cold, unsalted butter, cut into 1/2-inch cubes
1/2 cup all-purpose flour
3 1/2 tablespoons sugar

I put all the ingredients in my food processor and pulsed until course crumbs were formed. Alternately you could combine all of the ingredients in a bowl and rub together with your fingertips until crumbly.

Top with Streusel Topping and place in oven.

Bake 25 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean.

Makes 6 large muffins

One thought on “Morning Blueberry Streusel Procrastination Muffins

Leave a comment