Gone Camping Photo Backdrop

My latest large painting is a collaboration with Bell + Whistle for their first Wunderville shoot – a series of styled photo shoots here in Denver for kids and families.

As usual, Nicole had an amazing vision for this vintage camping themed set. Our initial conversation had us all tied between using a camper or a teepee as the main focal point.

IMG_3903IMG_3902After presenting the first two sketches, we were all in LOVE with the teepee! With some additional inspiration photos from Nicole,  I was able to create my final sketch.

camperinspiration

camping sketchWith my sketch in hand, I was able to start painting. This was the first time I was painting a canvas as large as this one, 12ft x 15ft! I had intentions of setting up inside to paint, but quickly realized I didn’t have any place in my house that was large enough or had enough light.

Screen Shot 2014-09-19 at 5.12.28 PMThank goodness for beautiful Colorado! We’ve already had our first dusting of snow here in town, but this week it has almost been 90. Perfect weather to be painting outside.

IMG_3940This kind of painting is actually kind of physical, so I had to take several breaks to relax my back. Just another excuse to enjoy the awesome blue sky.

Screen Shot 2014-09-19 at 5.17.00 PM

IMG_3949IMG_3950

A few shots of the finished painting, drying in the backyard.Screen Shot 2014-09-19 at 5.21.54 PMSeveral weeks after completing the painting, the photo shoot was all set up.  My husband and I had the opportunity to take part in the camping fun! I enjoying seeing the final set all come together and the magic that my backdrop helped create.CampMural CampMural2 CampMural3

Leave a Reply

