The Journey of the Red Fox

ForestFox_2014.wThis painting took a journey. I sat with it for a very long time in each of it’s phases. It was hard for me to let go of where it was in the beginning, even though I knew it wasn’t done. This is something I often struggle with in my paintings. But I’m slowly getting better. If I don’t love it, then continue painting and paint RIGHT OVER IT.

ForestFox_progressMost of the time I have made the intention to add an illustration, but for this painting, I could sort of “see” the fox in the painting. So I drew and painted him in and let that image become my focal point.

ForestFox_progress1

I do love how it finished, but I just wish I could work each painting 12 different ways! There were parts of the original that I really loved, like the small and large gold bubble wrap stamping that I did early on. But these areas became under layers to the final painting, as they aren’t very prominent in the final piece.

One thought on “The Journey of the Red Fox

Leave a Reply

