Song Bird

SongBird_2014.w

I love it when I get emails like this:
Hi-
I bought a darling piece of art by you in downtown Breckenridge. It has three little birds and the flags behind it say “take flight.” I LOVE it! It’s for my daughter’s room. Her nickname is birdy so I loved the little birds in the artwork. I wanted to buy another piece to pair with it but didn’t see another piece that worked. I would like to inquire about your availability, interest, and pricing in creating a piece for her that has a similar color scheme to the take flight piece. She’s 12 and loves to sing. I would love to incorporate something about singing.

TakeFlight_2011.w

Internally, (and maybe physically, too!) I jump with excitement about these opportunities! I am always available and interested in creating custom art. There is something about making art specifically for someone that focuses my attention like no other art making does.

bird

bird drawings

When I create for the sake of creating, I have too many choices. But when I work on a custom piece, I can narrow in on what needs to be done next and these pieces come effortlessly. I can feel so much struggle with other pieces, but custom pieces are a joy for me to create. And clearly that joy shines through.

songI started out by doing some drawings of song birds. I drew and re-drew until it was just right. Next, I gathered the scraps that I would need to make the collage. Because I save EVERYTHING, I still had a few fabric scraps left over from the “Take Flight” piece referenced in the email.

scraps

When I create custom pieces, I try to make them as special and personal as possible. I picked out maps of Kansas, since that was where the family was from. And I also looked at the text on the musical note pages to find words that about singing. I even found the girl’s name in the dictionary to include in the collage. I included a few more accent bits and laid everything out. I typed the text out on my vintage typewriter and decided where I wanted it to go.

Finally, all that was left was to glue everything into place.song bird in progress

 

Leave a Reply

