Artist Interview: Lizzie Mara

It’s been awhile since I’ve posted here on the blog, but I’m happy to be back and sharing a wonderful interview with my friend Lizzie. I met Lizzie through craft fairs here in Denver. Before I knew her personally, I was drawn to the colors and beautiful line work of Lizzie’s paintings. As a friend, Lizzie is a kind hearted, warm person who I love spending an evening painting along side. I’m pleased to share this artist interview!

Lizzie MaraWhen did you know that you wanted to be an artist?
When I was in preschool at Le Pepinniere Montessori school I would literally race other children to the art station to do my “work”. I was three and remember wanting a paint pallet and an easel so much.

What does it mean to live an authentic life?
Authenticity has been a big theme for me since 2007 – which is interesting for me to reflect on. This was the year I started really dedicating time to painting again. I have three beautiful children who help me keep it real, and the love of my soul mate – Jay Treat. He was my high school sweetheart and we are absolutely smitten. In 2010 I did a whole series of paintings called Who Are You? There were 32 paintings of women painted in profile wearing vintage floral swim caps with organic matter coming from them – as if you could see their truth. This was all about authentic communication for me.

What has been your most exciting moment as an artist?
I was asked to be a part of this Green Living Festival during the Democratic National Convention in Denver. I felt so honored to be a part of such a special moment in history and have my work featured. Any time I’m invited to show my work is so exciting!

 
How much time per week do you spend creating (rather than time spent promoting and running your business)
I wish it was more. As an artist-mom-entrepreneur I usually create around 4 hours/week on a bad week. On good weeks I’m creating around 20 hrs/week.

What is your favorite art supply, tool or technique?
I love Golden Acrylics, white oil based paint pens, and German water colour crayons.

Do you have a favorite piece of art you’ve created? What is the story behind this piece? 

Lizzie Mara "Home"“Home” 36″ x 36″ Mixed Media on Canvas

Do you keep an inspiration board? What is on it and what inspires you?

Yes! I love to rework my inspiration boards and love gathering images. Check out one of my Pinterest INSPIRE board or INSPIRED DESIGN board 

One we have in our home is our personal family “vision map” and on it are lists of what we want our lives to look like, such as daily yoga, juicing, qui gong, and other good habits! It’s amazing how many things come to fruition when we simply put it out there to the universe. I teach a vision board painting class a few times a year with an amazing Feng Shui teacher, Tanya Jahnke of Feng Shui for the Om

What is your favorite art related book(s)?
I find so much inspiration from children’s illustrators. I love to spend time in the children’s’ section of the Tattered Cover. I also love books about master painters like The Letters of Vincent VanGogh by Mark Roskill.

Who are your top 3 favorite artists?
This was such a hard question to answer because I love so many artists!

Ancient: I am so moved by ancient Etruscan Votive Figures!Etruscan votice

Impressionists: Manet. Berthe Morisot with a Bouquet of Violets, 1872. Photograph: RMN (Musee d’Orsay)/Herve Lewandowski
Manet

Modern: Niki de Saint PhalleModern: Niki de Saint Phalle

How do you recharge when your creativity hits the wall?
I work with children a lot – so many times when I have had a dry spell in my own creativity, teaching kids wakes this right up.

What advice can you offer those wanting to live a more creative life?
Get out an go to cultural events, see indi-films, go to see live music, and eat at chef restaurants. And when the budget it tight, browse art books at the library!

How can we find you? (website, facebook, twitter, pinterest, flickr, etc)

Facebook

Pinterest

One thought on “Artist Interview: Lizzie Mara

Leave a Reply

