August Thrifted Treasures

I thought I’d share some of my recent thrifing finds and make this a monthly feature where I round up my latest treasures and share their stories.

These items were found at estate sales, yard sales and flea markets. One of the great things about not working Fridays is that I can hit the estate sales on the first day!

I found the label maker and tape included at a yard sale down the street from our house. I was PSYCHED for this find because I’ve always wanted one-only $5.

The Betty Crocker cook books were a steal at 25 cents each at an estate sale down the street. I’ve developed a fondness for mid-century housewife literature. Each of these books has a theme for entertaining, written in 1958-1961.

The mug was a $1 find at a flea market in Minnesota. I used to go to the Shady Hollow  flea market, outside of Detroit Lakes, with my mom when I was in high school. This summer I got to go with my mother-in-law and sister-in-law. I picked this mug because I loved the colors and the rooster illustration.

These next several finds were from estate sales I went to just last week. I hadn’t been out in what seemed like weeks and a recent thrift store trip behind my back by Bear, got me itching to go.

I was excited to find another red suitcase to match the set I picked up earlier this summer. Of course at $3 it wasn’t quite the great find of the first set which was $3 for all three!

I’m also wildly attracted to 1960’s and 1970’s floral prints and found a curtain panel and a set of washclothes. There’s just something about the illustrations and the color palettes that I just LOVE. Everything is so bright and happy. A bit like my paintings.

That little book next to the rick rack is a pocket dictionary. So cute!

I was lucky to find an 1890’s edition of the collected works of Shakespeare for $5. My first intention upon seeing the book was to use it in my art they way I use the dictionary pages. However, when I saw the date of the book I began to question what I should really do with it. What would you do? In addition to my love for housewife literature and floral patterns from the 1960’s and 1970’s, I also really love the illustrations in children’s books. This style of the black with only 2 colors of ink overlapped is very similar to another book I bought 2 years ago.

I do wonder how long I can go on collecting the things that I do. I tell myself that lots of what I find is inspiration. Which is partly true. I’d like to think that the illustrations will lead to new drawings of my own. But I also worry that 50 years from now my house is going to look like the homes that I walk through on my thrifting scavenger hunts…

2 thoughts on “August Thrifted Treasures

Leave a Reply

