Almost There

The Bloom True e-course is coming to the final days of class. I have learned so much in the last 5 weeks and I am sad for class to be ending already. Fortunately, I will have access to the online classroom for the next 6 months, so I can continue to gain insight from the content. Watching Flora Bowely paint was so magical, I am sure to return to these videos especially as inspiration over the next few months.

We have one last painting lesson to go over, but that does not mean my paintings are complete. I have struggled with one painting more than the other so I feel Canvas #2 is going to need more layers before I feel finished. However, Canvas #1 is almost there.

Canvas #1 Layer 8

Canvas #1 has gone through fewer transformations over the last few layers, as I find more and more of the painting is working for me. Just recently, I pulled out my metallic paint for the first time and made the leaves gold accents. I am particularly in love with the blue green areas with the pink and red accents. There is such great texture here!

My main imagery is evolving more and more and it seems that my ugly duckling has turned into a swan mama.  Just a little more work and this one will be done.

Canvas #2 is another story though. My imagery has remained mostly the same, it is the colors that keep changing and I have to say, I don’t always like where it goes. In fact, there are other layers I liked much better than where I am at now. I have to fight the urge not to think about the next step for this painting. It goes against the intuitive nature of the course’s teachings. Looking at this painting now, I feel like the bottom right corner is what is working the best, so I will probably start there when I get back in my studio. The contrast and color scheme works so much better than the green that took over the rest of my painting.

 

One thing I’ve felt really good about in taking on this painting challenge is that I can definitely tell I have talent. There are still lots of area for that talent to grow, but I feel very confidant in calling myself an artist when I can excel at a new creative endeavor. The compliments I received on both my paintings in the classroom flickr group has also been very encouraging.

2 thoughts on “Almost There

  1. lovestayswithme says:

    I really like 2. What if you turn it once clockwise, so the circles are on the left not the bottom…just a thought. Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

