Simple Abundance

A list of resources was recently released in my HSHB class. This list included several books on different topics. Under resources for connecting with your soulful self, Sarah Ban Breathnach’s “Simple Abundance” was listed. This was not the first time I’d heard of this book.

Last weekend, I went to Goodwill for 50% off day and decided to browse the book section, something I rarely do. There are just so many books, I don’t often have the patients to browse through the unorganized collection. Almost right away, my eye saw “Simple Abundance” on the shelf. I pulled it down and turned to March 3rd to read the entry: “Setting aside a personal Sabbath.” Reading the entry I realized I was just like many contemporary woman who “assume they just can’t take the time.” This one entry convinced me to buy the book because I knew it would be full of things for me to think about as I work toward living a more soulful life. And for $1.25, I really couldn’t go wrong!

It seems I consciously make the choices to move my life in the direction I want it to go, the tools I need have presented themselves to me. “Simple Abundance” is a collection of “366 evocative essays-one for every day of your year-written for women who wish to live by their own lights.”

 

Showing off my manicure, a gift for myself

Taking the idea of a Sabbath to mind, Sunday I tried my best to use the day for myself. I allowed myself to stay in my sweats and lay on the couch reading a magazine Sunday morning. I painted in the afternoon and took the dog for a walk. Because I was behind on a freelance project, I did put in an hour of work. But my reward was a bubble bath and catching up on Castle the rest of the evening. I made the conscious decision that I would not do any cleaning.

I knew that I had a busy week coming up and rather than getting a head start, I chose to take some time and allow myself to just be. My head has definitely still been swirling with the things to get done and trying to prioritize the most important tasks this week. However, had I gotten some thing done on Sunday, my mind still would have gone through it’s usual anxiety cycle and I wouldn’t have been able to go into the week relaxed.

So I would recommend, if you find yourself at the Goodwill, pick up a copy of “Simple Abundance.” I’ve noticed this book on the selves on more than one occasion. The reading is bit size chunks and easily added to your daily routine.

Leave a Reply

