Playing With Paint

I knew that I was going to like the Bloom True painting class, but I am really blown away by how much I am loving to paint and to truly trust the process.

 

However, I will admit that I still have to convince myself to go down to my studio and just do it!

I am freelancing for a company while a woman is on maternity leave, so I am back to working 40 hours a week. This is something that does not feel good to me. I had finally gotten to a place where I felt really good about not having a job and being a housewife during this job transition. My business was getting the attention it deserved and I was able to create structure for myself. Unfortunately, my business does not pay the bills and when an opportunity to make some money presented itself, I had to take it.

I am still following along with Hello Soul. Hello Business and I am looking forward to the two week break that we are about to start here. I could really use some time to dig deep into everything we learned during this dreaming session. This will also give me the opportunity to spend some extra time on painting. I can not believe how tired I feel these days working outside the home. It doesn’t help that I work in a particularly dark office and my work flow is less than constant. I’ve spent many days aimless surfing the internet, struggling to keep my eyes open. Even now as I write this, I am taking breaks to rest my eyes.

But I had to share the progress I’ve made on my two canvases and I couldn’t wait another day! Last night I spent an hour in my studio creating the 3rd layer of marks.

 

We have been encouraged not to hold any part of our painting as “too precious,” something I am known to do, particularly with my art supplies. Each time I go to paint, I have no clue what will appear and it is such an exciting journey watching the composition develop. I’m not worrying about how this painting will turn out right now. It actually surprises me at how open I am being with this process. I like to have a plan and to know where things are going. But right now I am absolutely loving not having a plan, going with the flow and playing with the paint.

 

 

As I create these layers, I think of how I will incorporate this painting process into my own practices in making art. I look forward to applying these new painting techniques to my collages and embarking on a new body of work inspired by this class.

 

2 thoughts on “Playing With Paint

  1. Jacquie says:

    “But right now I am absolutely loving not having a plan, going with the flow and playing with the paint.” This is how I want to feel about life. Thanks for the inspiration. 🙂

Leave a Reply

