Finally, a Word for It

On the recommendation of a friend, I’ve been reading “The War of Art” by Steven Pressfield. This book is a great resource for any type of creative or anybody who wishes to achieve a higher level goal. The main focus of his book is the idea of RESISTANCE.

“There’s a secret that real writers know that wannabe writers don’t, and the secret is this: It’s not the writing part that’s hard. What’s hard is sitting down to write. What keeps us from sitting down is Resistance.”

This was something I could completely relate to and it feels good to finally have a name for it. Resistance is the reason going into my studio is the last thing on my list. Resistance is the reason I’m afraid to create and use my collection of supplies-also because I’ve associated a quality of preciousness to all of these supplies. Resistance is responsible for all of that fear I feel in creating.

But what I’ve also come to notice, and what this book points out, is that the more I go down to my studio and MAKE MYSELF SIT DOWN the more I keep doing it.

“The Muse takes note of our dedication. She approves. We have earned her favor in her sight. When we sit down and work, we become like a magnetized rod that attracts iron filings. Ideas come.”

I always get really excited when I complete a project, make significant process or conquer a design challange. But my excitement takes over and rather than riding my delight on to the next project or phase, I become so submerged by the sense of completion, I stop. I’ve attained my short term gratification and Resistance is happy to make me stop right there.

Needless to say, Resistance has been my word lately.

Right now the rest of my week is open so I’m trying my best to move studio time to the top of my to-do list rather than the bottom.

2 thoughts on “Finally, a Word for It

  1. Rachel Carlson says:

    Yay!!! Sadly, I love this word. It’s simply a way to remind me to break the barrier, go beyond and tell resistance who’s in charge. I live by lists. I love lists. In fact, if something is not on my list and I completed it, I still add it to the list and cross it off. Silly but true. What I’m getting at: The first thing on my list, do something for ME. The second thing on my list, do something for others. That used to be reversed. After all, I’m not happy unless I’m helping people. And until I realized, do art for me first, do sewing for me first, read for me first, write for me first….resistance won everything single time. I realized I had to live, breathe, eat, sleep my passion for it to become my ‘life-style’. Someone told me, do ONE thing and do it GOOD. Resistance then seems to slowly melt away. I just wanted you to know that I’m cheering you on in the background. Wear your cape proudly and SOAR. Hugs!

Leave a Reply

