Connecting the Inspiration

I finally finished the piece of artwork that has been sitting in my studio since November.

I started 3 pieces all at once and had an idea for it, but as will happen often, I changed my mind halfway through. In this case I changed my mind, but I didn’t know what I wanted to do instead. So it sat.

"Love is the Answer" and "Home Is Where Our Story Begins" available on Etsy

This week I had the right inspiration to finish.

If you follow me on facebook, you saw I posted a clip from the movie “It’s Kind of a Funny Story” because I really love this illustration style.

On a trip to Target this week, I was in the greeting card section and got pulled in by their Valentine’s Day cards. On an end cap there was a display with large 8 x 8 inch cards and they were all done in a collaged, layered style. The added detail I loved the most was the sewing. I took pictures with my phone, but I don’t have a smart phone so I can’t share the photos here. If you’d like to see what inspired me, be sure to check out the cards next time you’re at Target.

And that brings me to the studio today when everything clicked together.

I’m really excited about how this piece finished up! Now after several “home” themed pieces, I’m ready to move onto another theme.

One thought on “Connecting the Inspiration

Leave a Reply

