Rehearsal Dinner Pasta Salad

For our wedding rehearsal dinner, Bear and I elected to grill out with the help of his parents-and a trip to Costco. We had intentions of going to a restaurant in Granby, but after 6 weeks of contacting the restaurant and not making any progress on reservations and the menu, we dropped that idea.

And I’m so glad that we did! Bear’s family rented a large cabin at the YMCA of the Rockies as well as a large grill. His family cooked and prepped dinner and instead of being stuck at a long table all evening, we were all able to mingle and visit at will.

Our family style dinner was one of my favorite parts of our wedding.

We had salmon, pork chops and steak on the menu. Because my best friend, and maid of honor, is a vegetarian, I made a pasta salad to ensure she’d have a non-meat item to eat. In addition to being a hit with her, it was actually a hit with everyone else and I was getting requests for the recipe right away.

The only problem was that there was no “recipe.” Pasta salad is a go-to summer food for me. I pull whatever vegetables I have available, add a cheese of some kind and some dressing (sometimes I add pepperoni or rotisserie chicken)  and I’m done.

Upon signing into facebook this evening, I found this waiting for me: “can you send me that recipe for the delicious salad from wedding weekend 🙂 the pasta/rice one?” Two and a half months later, they still haven’t forgotten.

So here is a loose “recipe” to follow:

Main ingredient:
orzo pasta

A list of possible additional ingredients:
red onion, thinly sliced
tomatoes
red, yellow, and/or orange peppers
zucchini diced
fresh basil, finely chopped
fresh parsley, finely chopped
-some or all of these ingredients can be included, I used what I had in the house and garden

Dressing:
italian salad dressing
extra virgin olive oil
balsamic vinegar
-I used all three of the above because I ran out of italian dressing
feta cheese, crumbled
salt and pepper to taste

Instructions:
Cook and drain the orzo. Set aside.

Dice and chop all of the vegetables, or have your mother-in-law to-be do this for you.
In a large bowl combine orzo, vegetables and herbs. Stir to evenly disburse ingredients.
Add dressing ingredients and feta, mix well.
Refrigeration will allow flavors to blend together. I made this 24 hours in advance.

Leave a Reply

