I’ve Caved

I’ve heard wonderful things about Pinterest for months, received two ignored invites, even wandered around on the site a bit, but I had refused to join because I already had my tumblr site, which was very similar and served the same purpose-“Online Scrapbook.”

However, I couldn’t deny the appeal of the boards and being able to follow the specific interests of people rather than everything they posted. I was hesitant to join because I didn’t need another site to be a part of: Facebook, Linkedin, Tumblr, Flickr, blog, 3 email accounts….

But as of early September, I found myself with a lot of extra time on my hands: I was laid off from my job in the corporate world. At least this happened after the wedding and I was ready to move on with my career anyway. There is a small part of me that feels like a failure, after all, this is the SECOND time that I have been laid off. Of course I know it’s not personal or a reflection on my abilities as a designer, but it was clearly not the path I had seen for myself.

I am hoping to use this time to find a job I truly enjoy, to find something that is more inline with my own personal values and interests. This partially means pursuing my own artist ambitions. And hopefully, this time I’ll stay true to that goal because I spoke of much of the same things the last time I was laid off. Perhaps I’ll get it right this time.

And this is where Pinterest comes in. Because I can only work on my portfolio and look for jobs for so long each day. Not to mention it’s great for just wasting time. So if you’d like to see what I’ve been looking at the past few weeks, check out my Pinterest.

Leave a Reply

