Chocolate Zucchini Cake

The top item on my wedding registry was the Kitchen Aid 600 Professional Mixer.

Thanks to mom, I have a shiny, new, gray mixer in my kitchen and last night I decided to test it out-because that’s how I spend my Friday nights. It was actually really nice to bake again. It’s been so hot this summer that I haven’t dared turn on the oven. Returning to the kitchen, apron on, was relaxing for me.

During my garden harvest, I noticed a large zucchini hidden in the leaves. I knew the perfect use for this over sized zucchini would be baking.

I found a recipe for chocolate zucchini cake and put my mixer to work. It was so nice to basically put all the ingredients into the bowl and let the mixer do all the work.

Chocolate Zucchini Cupcakes (cake) modified from 101 cookbooks

1 cup brown sugar
1 cup vegetable oil
3 eggs
1 tsp  vanilla
1 cup  buttermilk
2 cups grated zucchini
1 cup  chocolate chips
2 cups wheat flour
1 1/4 cup cocoa, sifted
1/2 tsp  salt
2 tsp baking soda (modified to 1 3/4 tsp for high altitude)
1 tsp allspice
1 1/2 tsp cinnamon

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees F (375 degrees F for high altitude). Place wax paper in the bottom of a 9 in x 13 in  glass pan

MIXER Directions:

Place all dry ingrediants, oil and buttermilk in mixer. Mix until well incorporated.

Add eggs and zucchini, mix until batter is smooth and creamy.

Using a spoon or spatula, mix in chocolate chips. Pour battle into prepared pan.

NON-MIXER Directions:

In a medium bowl mix together the sugar, butter and oil. Beat in eggs, one at a time until well Incorporated. Stir in vanilla, buttermilk, zucchini and chocolate chips.

In a separate bowl mix together all of the dry ingredients. Add the liquid ingredients and mix until well combined. Spoon batter into pan.

–Bake in the center of the oven for about 35-40 minutes.  Cake is done with toothpick comes out clean.Cool on a wire rack.

Leave a Reply

