Show + Tell: Thomas Campbell

I read about artist Thomas Campbell over on the Decor8 blog. Campbell is an internationally celebrated artist with roots in skateboarding. And his artwork definitely falls into the immediate gut “love it” feeling I get when I see new art.

Campbell’s work is so bright and colorful, and full of texture. I was really intrigued by the scrapes of paper sewn together, which reminded me of the sewing paper artwork I found on flickr by gypsy999. It reminded me that sewing paper was a technique that I have been wanting to try for awhile, but mostly been too lazy to get the sewing machine out and try.

I absoluetly love seeing images of other artists studios and wonder if I’m keeping mine too clean. Campbell’s studio is messy and full of his art which I love! I find his space really inspiring and strive myself to become a more prolific artist.

An interview by SLAP skateboard magazine is available to learn more about the artist.

Leave a Reply

