This Is Not My Dress

My mom came to visit at the end of January to go wedding dress shopping with me. We went to four stores in Denver and I lost track of how many dresses I tried on. I made sure to try on a few over the top cupcake dresses and tried on several beautiful gowns that just weren’t for me. Finally, there was a point during the weekend where I thought I wasn’t going to find a dress I loved and still stay within my budget.

I know it is “the most important day of my life” but it is still just one day out of my entire life. With a small wedding budget, I couldn’t justify spending a large amount of money on a dress I would wear once.

But arriving at The Green Bride in Littleton, for my second visit, I was reminded that it is possible to find a beautiful dress at a reasonable price.

 

wedding dress shopping

The Little White Dress Bridal Shop
3420 West 32nd Ave.
Denver, CO 80211
(303) 814-8972
::I was lucky enough to attend during their grand opening weeks and was given a bottle of wine and a pouch with a mirror, chapstick and coupons for their shop. The woman I worked with was helpful and friendly. I stuck with dresses from their sample rack which were $900 and up.

The Alter Bridal Consignment Boutique
9629 W. Colfax Ave.
Lakewood, CO 80215
303-455-3385
::This shop is really more of a self serve bridal shop. There was one woman working in this large open shop when we went in. She was helpful with getting me into a fitting room and zipping and clipping me in to dresses, but she wasn’t dedicated to helping me find “the dress.” Most dresses here were $500 and up

ECO-Bridal Gowns
2559 16th Street
Denver, CO 80211
(720) 232-2950
:: This was the smallest shop that I visited, and it felt a bit cramped at times. But my mom and I were the only ones in the shop at the time and the woman helping us was really nice and honest. This shop had a combination of consignment, rental and new gowns. I found a consignment dress for $850 and a new gown for $900 that I liked.

The Green Bride
2340 W Main St
Littleton, CO 80120
(303) 798-2222
::This was my favorite shop. Dee Dee, the owner was such a great woman to work with. She’s been in the business for years and I felt very confident buying a gown from her. She has a small shop, but it was full of dresses and there was room for 2 women to try on gowns. Dee Dee was helpful in putting the gowns on and getting me zipped and clipped into the dress. Part of the proceeds from her shop go to DALIT FREEDOM NETWORK, as you walk down the aisle you help a little girl walk out of a life of slavery and prostitution! The Green Bride offer dresses at a fraction of the price you would pay at other salons. Some of their dresses are  brand new, others are lovingly consigned with the express idea of helping you save money for your wedding. After my first visit to The Green Bride in mid December, I knew that I wanted to go back and hopefully purchase my dress from this shop. It was here that I narrowed my choices down to two beautiful dresses-both under $500!

I’m not always the best at making decisions. I worry that I’ll make the wrong one or regret my choice later. As much as I wanted to purchase my dress and have that wedding planning step down, I fretted that I was choosing too soon and might want something different later. In fact I worry about that feeling for every choice I’m about to make for my wedding. I was really torn between the two final dresses, but finally choose the dress that was more unique. The best was that I was able to walk out of the shop with my dress! Now I just have to find shoes, so I can take in my dress for alterations.

3 thoughts on “This Is Not My Dress

  1. Nicole says:

    Remember this for every decision that needs to be made about the wedding not just about the dress:

    “I know it is “the most important day of my life” but it is still just one day out of my entire life.”

    In every decision just be honest about what’s most important to you and go with your gut. Some people have to have matching napkins, others have to have the best photographer. Its the people who put every decision on an even playing field who are in debt until their 40 and drive themselves crazy planning.

  2. Pam says:

    Looks as if you had a lot of fun. I am sure you made the right choice. You will be a very beautiful bride. Can’t wait. We are so excited.

Leave a Reply

