Sketchbook on Tour

I finished The Sketchbook Project last week. I rushed through the last few pages, glueing many pages together toward the back, just so that I could have it done.

My book will go on tour starting in February with 28836 artists from 94 countries.

After the tour, all sketchbooks will enter into the permanent collection of The Brooklyn Art Library, where they will be barcoded and available for the public to view.

It was good to have a project with an outside deadline, but I found I held myself back on some of the journaling because I knew it would be a public piece. I look forward to starting a new, more personal, journal in the sketchbook that my best friend got me.

I traced an illustration from a children’s piano book for this child hanging by balloons. I’ve had a friend tell me to create a piece of art from my thought process. Some times when I get to daydream or over thinking, my thoughts just jump so quickly.

This page features a glop of dried acrylic paint that I peeled off my paint tray years ago. The opposite page has aluminum tape I found in my studio when we moved in.

The photo of the gate was taken in Minnesota when I was practiced how to use a film SLR camera in college.

I went through my stash of unused/saved pieces and found the blue flowers and the yellow birds. I never really liked the yellow birds, but this project was a good place for them.

The right page uses a magazine tear out from high school.

The balloon paper is wrapping paper from a gift my aunt gave me for my 17th birthday and another magazine tear out from a Martha Stewart magazine in college.

Leave a Reply

