Childhood Artwork

I was listening to NPR’s Talk of the Nation the other day and they were discussing Sophie Crumb’s new book Evolution of a Crazy Artist. From the age of 2, Sophie’s father collected all of her drawings. This book is a compilation of her drawings from 2 to 28.

Listeners were encouraged to call in to talk about how their own parents had encouraged or discouraged their own artist abilities.

This conversation reminded me of the stack of my own drawings that my parents saved. I have every piece of art I ever created from preschool, elementary, middle and high school, college and beyond. Fortunately, I have a large storage closet attached to my studio where I can store everything.

In high school, my mom framed one of my childhood drawings and it sits in my studio now. The frame on the far right features a stick figure framed with a splatter painting of mine.

It’s rather impressive how much of my work was saved considering the amount of times both of my parents moved. I suppose saving all of this was an encouragement, although I didn’t realize it at the time. Having a mom that is an artist didn’t hurt either.

Leave a Reply

