Two Thirds

I have finished two of the three 8×10 canvases that I have been working on. 

The photo didn't pick up the text very well. It reads "JOY" in the red flags

I had set out to use owls on these canvases and as a result I have struggled with the illustrations as they are new for me. I drew and drew and drew pages of owls in my sketchbook as well as on scraps in the studio.

Finding an illustration that fit the rest of my style and didn’t look too cute was hard and I am still stuck on the third canvas. But this morning I was down in the studio and I think I have it laid out well enough for me to be okay with finishing it up.

I finally ordered some of the washi tape that I have been drooling over for the past year.

My order came from Japan so I had to wait 2 weeks for it to arrive.

It was actually smaller than I had thought it was going to be. I had anticipated rolls similar to the diameter of regular masking tape.  I was so excited when it arrived, I immediately used some on my canvases. You can see the green stripes on the “Joy” piece and the teal stripes and pink tape on the “Come Fly Away with Me” piece.

Leave a Reply

