The Cost of Time

I read a blog post on CraftyPod today reminding me again why I would love to be making a living from my art. Diane Gilleland made a case for “Getting Paid Partially in Time” when you are a stay-at-home-artist.

Reality #1
The alarm drags you out of sleep, and into the realization that you’ve got to hurry up and get to the job you hate. Groggy, you drag yourself through the morning routine of washing and dressing and gulping coffee. Then you get in the car and sit in traffic – or, you pack yourself onto a crowded bus – and crawl to work. The closer you get, the deeper the sinking feeling in the pit of your stomach. You’d so much rather be crocheting. Only eight more months until your vacation trip to Hawaii.

Reality #2
You wake up naturally, refreshed and excited to begin your day. It might be early in the morning or maybe you made art until the wee hours and are getting started at midday. It’s entirely your choice. You wash up, dress simply, and head to your studio space. You might work on some art, or doodle in your sketchbook, or catch up on email – whichever one is calling to you most. Your day is spent mostly in flow like this – you spend your energies where your mind and body want to go. You may not have the money for a vacation this year, but then again, you may not really need one
.*

Boy do I wish that I was living in Reality #2! My true reality is not as terrible as Reality #1 describes, but I do experience some of those same feelings. I could certainly relate to “treating yourself to occasional (or frequent) coffee drinks, to help keep you fueled. If it’s a job you don’t like, then you’ll also spend money on decompressing, whether that’s with a cold beer or dinner out or a new scarf you buy yourself as a reward for working so hard. You have to buy and maintain a work wardrobe.”* Just today I stopped by the new Duffy Roll by my house to pick up a carmel roll and a coffee for breakfast. And over the weekend I picked up a new cardigan to add to my work wordobe.

There are certainly pros and cons to both situations, but remembering the value of my time and the comprises of a day job remind me why I am (slowly) working toward starting my own business. Of course that steady paycheck is hard to let go of.

*pulled from “Getting Paid Partially in Time”
One thought on “The Cost of Time

  1. Sister Diane says:

    Thank you for this nice review of my post! I’m glad to hear it resonated with you.

    I wish you all the best with your fledgling business! It’s true, the steady paychecks are hard to let go of. When I did it, it felt a bit like stepping off a cliff. But over time, you become used to it. You learn to plan work and promotions ahead so your income flow is a bit steadier. And definitely, your relationship to money and spending will change, and soon you won’t even remember what that paycheck thing was like. 🙂

Leave a Reply

