Waffled French Toast-Yum!

One of the food blogs I follow is Dinner With Julie. Julie lives in Calgary and her blog is ” a sort of kitchen diary, addressing all the factors that govern what we eat – seasons, events, locales, participants, politics, kids, marketing.” Awhile back she featured waffled french toast and ever since I found this technique I have been hooked.

Waffled French Toast

Dip the bread in an egg-milk-cinnamon mixture as if you were making regular french toast, but then place the soaked bread in a waffle iron instead. This is especially great for using up slightly stale bread, as the waffle iron presses the stiff bread down. It is also super easy since you don’t have to worry about flipping the bread.

Waffled french toast jam

I ate my waffled french toast with a dalop of plain yogurt and raspberry jam.

And did you see my cute plate? That is one of 4 different designs I bought at Anthropology after Christmas.

Leave a comment