Pumpkin Muffins

After making waffles, I still had left over pumpkin, so I hit Smitten Kitchen for a recipe again. This time I found pumpkin muffins and as always modified the recipe.

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour I did half whole wheat flour and half white
1/2 cup quick oats (I am trying to use these up, I prefer the old fashion kind for my morning oatmeal)
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 cup canned solid-pack pumpkin (from a 15 ounce can) I used what I had, which I think was more than a cup
1/3 cup vegetable oil I replaced the oil with 1 cup of plain yogurt
2 large eggs
1 teaspoon pumpkin-pie spice I used  1 teaspoon cinnamon, 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg,  1/2 teaspoon cloves and 1/2 teaspoon ginger
1 1/4 cups plus 1 tablespoon sugar I used 1 cup sugar
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon cinnamon
Preheat oven to 350 degrees and prepare muffin tin/ plastic muffin form as needed.
Stir together cinnamon and remaining 1 tablespoon sugar in another bowl.

Mix all wet ingredients, then slowly add dry ingredients. Fill muffin in 2/3 full and sprinkle with cinnamon sugar mixture. Bake 17-25 minutes depending on your oven. They are a very moist muffin, so baking them a little longer will help hold their shape but won’t dry then out.

Leave a Reply

