Show and Tell: James Gulliver Hancock

I finally was able to sit down with my new book Naive, which arrived before Labor Day. I’ve had ambitions of going to a coffee shop, sipping a latte and enjoying at a scone while I flipped through the pages. I was beginning to think I was going to have to sit down at home with the book if I ever wanted to look at it. But yesterday I was able to enjoy a homemade ice cream sandwich and a cup of coffee-yes, I know an odd combo- at a shop in the Highlands. I had been wanting that ice cream sandwiches all summer, and I was glad to have made it up there before summer was over.

It was great to finally sit down with the book and my sketchbook. And because I had wanted it for inspiration, I thought I would share some of the inspiring artists I discovered. I have barely made it through a quarter of the book and already found some many great artists. Today I’m going to share James Gulliver Hancock.

All imagery pulled from the website of James Gulliver Hancock

James' hand drawn type is great here

This image was in the book. The use of the measuring type is so clever.

This image was in the book. The use of the measuring type is so clever.

Leave a Reply

