August Journal page

Yes, this is very late. But I did create it in August. Or I started it in August. When September came around, I just decided to call it “done” since my goal was create a page a month. I haven’t started September’s page yet, but with the way the months-and 2009- has been flying by, I’d better start soon.

August

This page was a very simple page, using left over bits from other “real” pieces. I painted layers of wax on top to seal all the paper down.

I started my first journal right before I started 8th grade. I wrote several times a week and eventually I was writing every day, chronicling my teenage years. I kept this up until the middle of my junior year of high school. The frequency of my entries decreased, and I moved to an online version for awhile. It wasn’t until my freshman year of college that I moved to a visual journal. It was still mostly words, but I started to include magazine cut outs, doodles and the rare use of paint. The height of the visual journaling was definitely the 2006 journal my first senior year of college (I was in college for 5 years, so I had a first and second senior year, or as some call it, a “super” senior year.) My 2006 book wasn’t this much of a challenge, and that was 2 pages a week. That book is one of my favorite art accomplishments. After that my journaling really decreased. I did keep a record of my stay in London, but once I returned to the states and moved in with my boyfriend, my journaling went to the way back back burner.

I have to work journaling back into my routine. I don’t know what it is that makes it so hard for me to complete these journal pages. But I think that journaling for a long time was a campion and I am not feeling so lonely these days. However, I would love to document the happiness and use journaling to work though other challenges in my life.

Leave a Reply

