Waffle Breakfast

Last week a friend and I made a pumpkin facial.  We laughed and giggled and we smoothed the cold goo onto our faces. I’m not sure how it was supposed to work, but we did notice our skin felt smooth afterward. And we had lots of pumpkin left over.

Yesterday, I cruised over to Smitten Kitchen to see what I could make with the left over pumpkin. I have been following her blog since this spring and always enjoy the recipes she has to offer. As I rarely follow a recipe exactly, hers are always a good place for me to start. The first recipe on my pumpkin search revealed pumpkin waffles. I was sold immediately!

Waffle Breakfast

Smitten Kitchen Pumpkin Waffles
Adapted from several sources

2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour-I used 1 cup white flour and 1 cup wheat flour, plus 1/3 cup wheat germ
1/3 cup packed light brown sugar
2 1/4 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
1 teaspoon ground ginger
1/4 teaspoon ground cloves
4 large eggs, separated-I am not a fan of beating eggs to create soft peaks, especially for breakfast, so I just used 2 eggs not separated
2 cups well-shaken buttermilk-I don’t keep buttermilk on hand, nor I have never bought it. I substituted 1 cup of vanilla yogurt
1 cup canned solid-pack pumpkin-I think I had more than a cup
3/4 stick (6 tablespoons) unsalted butter, melted-I used about 4 tablespoons melted
Vegetable oil for brushing waffle iron or cooking spray

CIMG0978 CIMG0979

I mixed the pumpkin, eggs and yogurt together then added the rest of the ingredients. After it was all mixed, I added 1/4 cup of milk to thin out the batter. I could have just reduced the amount of flour had I not added it all at once.

Then I scooped about a cup of batter onto the preheated waffle iron and cooked until crispy-ish. CIMG0980

The batter made 4 full waffles. I’ll be eating left overs for breakfast this week.

I spent the rest of the day recovering from my cold by sleeping, watching movies and backing up my computer onto a new external drive I (finally) purchased. It is recommended to have at least 30 G of free space for your computer to run smoothy. I cleared just enough space on my Mac to accomplish this. I am back to 34.5 G free. Up from the 26 G it was at this morning. But what I really want is a new computer. But with a new computer comes the price tag of new programs and brings the price to several grand. Maybe next year…

Leave a Reply

