Exciting Friday Night

I am reading A Homemade Life by Molly Wizenberg. It has inspired me to want to bake and cook more, hence the banana bread last time. A few months ago I had baked strawberry pie and made double the amount of pie dough to keep in the freezer. I love doing this because the next time I want to make pie, half the work is already done.

CIMG0781

Thursday, over my lunch break, I went to the Sunflower Market. I love this grocery store because the produce always looks good and the prices area really pretty great. I can also buy tons of items in bulk.  White peaches and nectarines were on sale for 67 cents a pound. I bought 4 of each. I also bought a carton of blueberries. I never really buy blueberries, I don’t know if it’s because I don’t like them or I never know what to do with them, I believe it is the later.  For me they aren’t a berry I just eat by itself straight from the carton. After reading a few chapters of A Homemade Life, the idea of pie came into my head. I didn’t know exactly what kind of pie, but I knew I had enough fruit to combine something together.  I took the dough out of the freezer so that I could spend my Friday evening baking pie.

CIMG0767

Friday I remembered that we had some peaches in the freezer that had been there for awhile.I thought I could use those up and combine them with the blueberries. I did a google search for Blueberry Peach Pie, not sure if I’d find anything-it isn’t the most common pie. But I had no problem finding a recipe.

Topping:

  • 2/3 cup plus 2 T rolled oats
  • 1/2 c flour
  • 1/3 c firmly packed brown sugar
  • 1 t cinnamon
  • 1 t nutmeg
  • 1/2 walnuts chopped-I omitted the nuts hoping the boyfriend would be more inclined to eat the pie. For whatever reason he is not a big sweet eater, which I can not believe and I think is such a waste of my talent.
  • 6 T butter cut up

CIMG0769

Filling:

  • 3 to 3.5 ripe peaches-I used a 1/3 bag frozen peaches and 2 fresh peaches, just make sure you have enough fruit to fill the pie pan
  • 1 cup blueberries-I used 1 carton
  • 1 T vanilla extract
  • 1 t nutmeg
  • 1 t cloves-I substituted the cinnamon that it called for for these two spices
  • 1/3 packed brown sugar
  • 1/4 c flour-I forgot this and realized it immediately after I pulled it out of the oven because it was a bit soupy. But I put the pie in the fridge and it had firmed up a bit this afternoon

CIMG0772

Prepare pie crust. You can use a store bought one or use your favorite recipe. I feel that I am one of the few 20 somethings that actually make their pie crust from scratch-or make pie for that matter. I’m not the best at it, but I just have something against buying a pre-made crust. My mom, the woman who taught me to cook from scratch, bought one for Thanksgiving last year, so I won’t blame you for buying one.

In a bowl combine frozen peaches(I let them sit on the counter to defrost a bit, plus they had quite a bit of frost on them that I didn’t want in my pie), and blueberries. Slice the peaches, don’t worry about removing the skin, it doesn’t effect the taste of the pie. Add brown sugar, vanilla, cloves, nutmeg and flour. Mix and pour into prepared pie crust.

CIMG0779CIMG0778

For the crumb topping, combine butter, flour, cinnamon, nutmeg, and brown sugar. I grew up using the 2 knife scissor method of making a crumb topping. I hated it. Once I was on my own and baking regularly, I bought a pastry blender. I don’t know why my mom had never owned one, but I made sure she bought one shortly after I bought mine. It makes the process so much easier. Once well incorporated, add the walnuts and oats, mix well. Cover fruit with crumble topping.

CIMG0774

Place pie on tinfoil covered baking sheet. This is to catch any bubbling spills and saves on oven clean up. Bake for 20 minutes, until the top is golden brown.

CIMG0780

The author of a Homemade Live talked of how she followed the directions to a T the first time through, if not every time after. I laughed because I am the exactly opposite. I have heard so much about the importance of following recipes. I remember my 7th grade Home Ec teacher telling us how we must follow the recipe exactly (this means using a knife to level off your flour when measuring.) If we didn’t follow the recipe exactly then we wouldn’t know how the originator intended for the item to taste. And even at 13 I thought, who cares? Besides, I never seem to have any problems with my methods-except the one time my mom and I changed just about ever ingredient in a muffin recipe, that was a disaster.

So forgive me if some of the directions are a little vague. I am not the best at following recipes and only loosely follow the quantities and directions. I like to bake by feel.

One thought on “Exciting Friday Night

Leave a Reply

