Baking 1, Gym 0

I had grand plans to go to the gym tonight. I am sitting at home in my sweats instead. There are some times when, even though I know it’s “good for me,” I just don’t feel it. And when I get that feeling, I go to the gym and think “I don’t want to be here, I don’t want to be here,” and then I’m not really working myself.

So I decided to put the shriveling zucchini to use and bake zucchini bread. This has been a favorite of mine since I was a kid-when all my friends thought I was crazy for liking zucchini bread. Because anyone who’s ever had it knows zucchini really has no taste: It’s the spices and other ingredients that give it flavor. The zucchini provides the moistness. I didn’t save the recipe I used last fall, so I had to search the internet for a new recipe. The one below won the zucchini bread contest. My modifications are in purple.

Zucchini Coconut Pecan Bread

3 eggs, well beaten

1 1/3 cup splenda-I don’t like artificial sweeteners but at the same time, I am trying to reduce my sugar intake. I used 1/2 cup of agave nectar. It is very sweet, requiring less, and is the consistency of honey.
3 tsp vanilla
1 c yogurt-I used vanilla yogurt which also adds some sweetness
2 cups shredded zucchini
1 1/2 c flour
1 1/2 c whole wheat flour
1/2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp salt
1 tsp soda
1 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp nutmeg
1 cup coconut-I used 1/2 cup of sweetened coconut
1 cup choc chips-I added 1/2 of pecans instead

2-3 T of milk

Beat eggs until light and fluffy. Add sugar, vanilla, and yogurt. Blend well. Stir in zucchini. Sift together flour, baking powder, salt, soda and cinnamon. Blend with egg mixture. Fold in chocolate chips add coconut. Turn into 2 greased 9×5 loaf pans. Bake at 350º for 1 hour. Makes 2 loaves

Some modifications are made because of what I have in the house and others are made because I don’t like to follow recipes. I don’t  follow the level off method of measuring flour. (This may be why I had to add 2-3 tablespoons of milk to make sure the batter was the right consistency.) I told my mom a few weeks ago, that sewing was hard for me because I have to be more precise and follow the directions. I like to work in a more organic way, which is way I like baking-or creating my collages.  The funny thing is I’ve read a lot of baking tips that talk about the importance of measuring exactly and what not. I never really have and I don’t have any problems. Knock on wood.

Just pulled the bread out of the oven. I am trying to be patient and wait for it to cool before tasting it.

Leave a Reply

